T&G’s Bruce Beaton, Kristen Nash and Maurice Windle were recognised with a “Highly Commended” at the Primary Industry Awards at NZ Parliament last night (November 27, 2018).

Minister of Agriculture Damien O’Connor congratulated all the finalists and highlighted the industry’s challenge in attracting and retaining talent.

“Attracting and keeping hard-working talent is a significant challenge in our industry and we recognise those exceptional employers who are committing to good employment practices such as training, paying and treating staff well,” he said.

“Good employers help to attract and develop the skills we need for today and tomorrow. Investing in the workforce is critical to the future of our primary industries and a key part of this is providing attractive careers for the next generation of workers.”

T&G’s SEED programme, which assists unemployed people back into work on the apple orchards of Hawke’s Bay, has been a great success in breaking the cycle of unemployment and getting locals back to work.

There are around 1000 workers who work at T&G during peak season in the Hawkes Bay which includes those on the SEED programme, local workers and RSE (seasonal workers from the Pacific Islands).

The winners and highly commended runners up were:

Innovative Employment Practices Award: Presented by Tony Egan, AGMARDT.

Winner: Ben and Nicky Allomes, Hopelands Dairies Ltd. (Dairy)

Highly Commended: Jenny Buckley and Dave van den Beuken, Jaydee Partnership. (Dairy) 

Employee Development Award: Presented by Ray Smith, MPI.

Winner: Kevin and Kylie Ihaka, Forest Protection Services. (Forestry)

Highly Commended: Patrick Malley, Onyx Capital Limited. (Horticulture)


Safe and Healthy Work Environment Award: Presented by Minister Nash.

Winner: Michelle Cherr​ington, Moana. (Seafood)

Highly Commended: Kevin Ihaka, Forestry Protection Services. (Forestry)


Māori Agribusiness Award: Presented by Minister Jones.

Winner: Miraka. (Dairy)

Highly Commended: Zac Te Ahuru, Ruapehu Agricultural Developments Ltd. (Forestry)


Minister’s Award: Presented by Minister O’Connor. 

Winner: Ben and Nicky Allomes, Hopelands Dairies Ltd. (Dairy)

Highly Commended: Bruce Beaton, Kristen Nash and Maurice Windle, T&G Global, Pipfruit. (Horticulture)